How to request SCHUFA information - 5 steps

How do I actually request a SCHUFA self-disclosure?

This road will not be an easy one....

Many people do not know that they are entitled to a free SCHUFA self-disclosure at regular (reasonable) intervals. But the way to get it is well hidden. Here is the exact procedure that SCHUFA wants us to follow:

Step 1: You go to the SCHUFA website, scroll all the way down to the footer menu and click on "Private Clients". This opens the page that tries to sell you one of SCHUFA's fee-based products. Please do not get distracted here, what we are looking for can be found at the very bottom again in the gray footer as "Data copy according to Art. 15 DS-GVO".

Step 2: A so-called landing page opens. You will also initially find some SCHUFA products that are subject to a charge. Please do not get distracted again, not even by the pop-up that tries to sell you the online subscription. We click the pop-up away and scroll all the way down again to the point "Data copy according to Art. 15 DS-GVO" and click on "More info and order".

Step 3: Again, a landing page appears offering the paid products. And here it is again: the pop-up that wants to sell us a subscription. Again, we simply click it away. We see a juxtaposition: on the left, the fee-based product offered by SCHUFA, which SCHUFA tries to make palatable to us with 10 green checkmarks. To the right, then, what we are looking for: the free data disclosure, which is just about sufficient for our purpose. We see a green checkmark next to "Overview of your data" - perfect, that's all we want! We ignore the nine red warning signs suggesting that the free SCHUFA self-disclosure is a pretty stupid idea, because we know we don't need anything else. We boldly click "Order now" at the bottom.

Step 4: a form opens that is deliberately (?) much more complicated than necessary. In order for SCHUFA to find you in the database, only your name, your address and your date of birth are relevant. But so that it is not too easy for us, the SCHUFA asks here for previous addresses and secondary residence. Furthermore, 3 dropdowns suggesting that we should upload our identity card, passport and certificate of registration here. We know that these documents are only required if there is considerable doubt as to whether the person making the request is actually ordering the data for themselves. We don't do all that for now, just enter name, address and date of birth, try to read the security code and type it into the field. Then we click on "Next".

Step 5: We see an overview of the data we entered and finally submit the form. It's done. In about 2 weeks we will have the required documents in the mail.

Why is the way to the SCHUFA self-disclosure so complicated?

Simple answer: it's about money. Not just a little money, but a lot of money. According to our estimates, around 10,000 people apply for a SCHUFA self-disclosure every day. And now two different interests collide:

Our right according to Art. 15 DS-GVO to our data, and free of charge - on the one hand. SCHUFA likes that about as much as a hole in the knee, because: it's much more fun to sell the personal data collected about us not only to the affiliated banks and companies, but also to ourselves. That's the other side. And that's exactly why the road to our free data copy is rocky and difficult.

The alternative: simply apply informally yourself!

Yes, even if SCHUFA doesn't like it - it is legally obliged to process every request for data information according to Art. 15 DS-GVO. How do you do that? Send a short e-mail to SCHUFA requesting information. Identity card or signature is not necessary. If there are any doubts, e.g. because two people with the same name live in your house, SCHUFA will get back to you and may ask for the ID card. However, this is the exception and completely okay.

SCHUFA makes things unnecessarily difficult for us!

Let's imagine that the German language is not our native language or we don't know our rights very well, but we urgently need a SCHUFA self-disclosure. We google and of course fail on the way described above. At one of the steps, we get worn down and decide to use the SCHUFA's paid service.

selbstauskunft.de makes it easy!

Many people who simply do not want to spend hours on the subject of SCHUFA self-disclosure use our service. We create the appropriate cover letter and automatically send it directly to SCHUFA. The documents will then arrive by mail a few days later - directly from SCHUFA. So it's also easy!

Your SCHUFA self-disclosure according to DSGVO

Please enter data carefully, as this will be transferred exactly to the application for the self-disclosure. By ordering this service, a one-time fee of only EUR 29.90 incl. VAT (net EUR 25.13 plus 19% VAT of EUR 4.77) will be charged. Payable comfortably on account. You will receive your self-disclosure and a download code directly from SCHUFA Holding AG.
  • Preferred email address
  • Cell phone number (optional)
  • With order I wish that my order is executed now immediately completely, thus the possibility of the revocation is void. I have checked my entered data again and they are correct. I agree to the sending of important messages, also of an advertising nature, by e-mail. We expressly refer to our terms and conditions, privacy policy and cancellation policy

  • This field is for validation and should not be changed.

Wie SCHUFA-Auskunft beantragen – 5 Schritte

Wie beantrage ich eigentlich eine SCHUFA-Selbstauskunft?

Dieser Weg wird kein leichter sein….

Viele Menschen wissen nicht, dass ihnen in regelmäßigen (angemessenen) Abständen eine kostenlose SCHUFA-Selbstauskunft zusteht. Doch der Weg dorthin ist gut versteckt. Hier der genaue Ablauf, den uns die SCHUFA zumuten möchte:

Schritt 1: Sie gehen auf die Webseite der SCHUFA, scrollen dort ganz nach unten bis zum Fußzeilenmenü und klicken dort auf „Privatkunden“. Es öffnet sich die Seite, auf der versucht wird, Ihnen eines der kostenpflichtigen SCHUFA-Produkte zu verkaufen. Hier bitte nicht ablenken lassen, das, was wir suchen ist ganz unten wiederum im grauen Footer zu finden als „Datenkopie nach Art. 15 DS-GVO“

Schritt 2: Es öffnet sich eine sog. Landingpage. Auch finden Sie zunächst einige kostenpflichtige Produkte der SCHUFA. Bitte wieder nicht ablenken lassen, auch nicht von dem Pop-Up, mit dem versucht wird, Ihnen das Online-Abo zu verkaufen. Wir klicken das Pop-Up weg und scrollen wieder ganz nach unten wieder auf den Punkt „Datenkopie nach Art. 15 DS-GVO“ und klicken auf „Mehr Infos und Bestellung“.

Schritt 3: Wieder erscheint eine Landing-Page, auf der die kostenpflichtigen Produkte angeboten werden. Und auch hier ist es wieder: das Pop-Up, das uns ein Abo verkaufen will. Wir klicken es wieder einfach weg. Wir sehen eine Gegenüberstellung: Links das von der SCHUFA angebotene kostenpflichtige Produkt, das die SCHUFA versucht uns mit 10 grünen Häkchen schmackhaft zu machen. Rechts daneben, dann das, was wir suchen: die kostenlose Datenauskunft, die für unseren Zweck gerade völlig ausreichend ist. Wir sehen ein grünes Häkchen bei „Übersicht Ihrer Daten“ – perfekt, mehr wollen wir gar nicht! Wir ignorieren die neun roten Warnzeichen, die uns suggerieren, dass die kostenlose SCHUFA-Selbstauskunft eine ziemlich blöde Idee ist, denn wir wissen ja, dass wir nichts anderes brauchen. Wir klicken unten mutig auf „Jetzt bestellen“.

Schritt 4: es öffnet sich ein Formular, das bewusst (?) deutlich komplizierter aufgebaut ist als eigentlich notwendig. Damit die SCHUFA Sie in der Datenbank finden kann ist lediglich Ihr Name, Ihre Meldeanschrift und Ihr Geburtsdatum relevant. Doch damit es für uns nicht zu einfach wird fragt die SCHUFA hier noch nach früheren Anschriften und Zweitwohnsitz. Weiterhin 3 Dropdowns, die uns suggerieren, wir sollten hier Personalausweis, Reisepass und Meldebescheinigung hochladen. Wir wissen: diese Dokumente werden nur bei erheblichen Zweifeln benötigt, ob die antragstellende Person die Daten auch wirklich für sich selbst bestellt. Wir machen das alles erstmal nicht, geben nur Name, Anschrift und Geburtsdatum ein, versuchen den Sicherheitscode zu lesen und tippen ihn in das Feld ein. Dann klicken wir auf „Weiter“.

Schritt 5: Wir sehen eine Übersicht der von uns eingegebenen Daten und senden das Formular endgültig ab. Es ist geschafft. In ca. 2 Wochen werden wir die benötigten Dokumente in der Post haben.

Warum ist der Weg zur SCHUFA-Selbstauskunft so kompliziert?

Einfache Antwort: es geht um Geld. Nicht nur um ein bisschen Geld, sondern um sehr viel Geld. Pro Tag beantragen unserer Schätzung zu Folge ca. 10.000 Menschen eine SCHUFA-Selbstauskunft. Und jetzt stoßen zwei verschiedene Interessen aufeinander:

Unser Recht gem. Art. 15 DS-GVO auf unsere Daten, und zwar kostenlos – auf der einen Seite. Das mag die SCHUFA in etwa so gerne wie ein Loch im Knie, denn: viel mehr Spaß macht es doch, die über uns gesammelten persönlichen Daten nicht nur den angeschlossenen Banken und Unternehmen zu verkaufen, sondern auch uns selbst. Das ist die andere Seite. Und genau deshalb ist der Weg zu unserer kostenlosen Datenkopie steinig und schwer.

Die Alternative: einfach formlos selbst beantragen!

Ja, auch wenn die SCHUFA das nicht mag – sie ist gesetzlich verpflichtet, jede Anfrage nach Datenauskunft gem. Art. 15 DS-GVO zu bearbeiten. Wie das geht? Kurze E-Mail an die SCHUFA mit der Bitte um Auskunft. Personalausweis oder Unterschrift ist nicht nötig. Sollten Zweifel bestehen, weil z.B. zwei Personen mit gleichem Namen in Ihrem Haus wohnen, dann meldet sich die SCHUFA zurück und fragt evtl. nach dem Personalausweis. Das ist aber dann die Ausnahme und völlig in Ordnung.

Die SCHUFA macht es uns unnötig schwer!

Stellen wir uns einmal vor, die deutsche Sprache ist nicht unsere Muttersprache oder wir kennen unsere Rechte nicht so genau, aber wir brauchen dringend eine SCHUFA-Selbstauskunft. Wir googlen und scheitern natürlich auf dem oben beschriebenen Weg. An einem der Schritte werden wir mürbe und entscheiden uns für das kostenpflichtige Angebot der SCHUFA.

selbstauskunft.de macht’s einfach!

Viele Menschen, die einfach keine Lust haben, sich stundenlang mit dem Thema SCHUFA-Selbstauskunft zu befassen nutzen unseren Service. Wir erstellen das passende Anschreiben und schicken es automatisch direkt an die SCHUFA. Die Dokumente kommen dann einige Tage später per Post – direkt von der SCHUFA. Es geht also auch einfach!

Ihre SCHUFA-Selbstauskunft gem. DSGVO

Bitte Daten sorgfältig eingeben, denn diese werden exakt in den Antrag für die Selbstauskunft übernommen. Durch die Bestellung dieses Services entsteht eine einmalige Gebühr in Höhe von lediglich EUR 19,90 inkl. MwSt.*
  • Ihre bevorzugte E-Mail-Adresse
  • Mobiltelefon-Nummer
  • Dieses Feld dient zur Validierung und sollte nicht verändert werden.